W obronie rozumu

O moich książkach w „The Psychologist”

Q&A – Tomasz Witkowski

Rebecca Stack, Associate Editor for Books, speaks to Tomasz Witkowski, the author of Psychology Led Astray: Cargo Cult in Science and Therapy.

Tell me a bit about yourself and how you came to write this book.
I am a psychologist, who for has many years worked at two Polish universities and two in Germany. However, amassing points for publishing research on problems of little significance, conference ‘tourism’, and scrambling up the academic career ladder are not what I wanted to devote my life to. So I began to write books popularising psychology and to work with business.

About 10 years ago I decided to write a modest book devoted to some of the myths prevalent in the teaching and understanding of psychology which I had notoriously come up against. This was partly for my own benefit, to categorise and brush up my own knowledge. It really was intended to be a modest little book, but during the course of writing the amount of material increased at an alarming rate as I uncovered more and more distortions and pseudoscience in what we usually call psychology. When the book had already reached over 400 pages, and I had used barely a third of the available material, I decided to publish it as Psychology Gone Wrong: The Dark Sides of Science and Therapy, the first volume of a trilogy. Psychology Led Astray is the second volume of this trilogy.

Read more…

Skomentuj

Podaj adres e-mail w celu obserwowania tego bloga i otrzymywania powiadomień o dodaniu nowych wpisów.

Dołącz do 80 obserwujących.

